Call for the Capture.IT 2020


Call for Presentations

2nd Italian Workshop on CTF competitions (Capture.IT)
Co-located with ITASEC2020
February 4th, 2020
Facoltà di Ingegneria, Università Politecnica delle Marche
Via Brecce Bianche 12, Ancona, Italy


General Information

The Second Italian Workshop on CTF competitions (Capture.IT 2020) aims at gathering practitioners and experts who want to share their experience about the organization of and the participation to Capture The Flag (CTF) competitions.

The purpose of the workshop is to provide a forum for exchanging opinions, presenting ideas, and lessons learned on CTF. In particular, Capture.IT aims at attracting the Italian CTF community, e.g., students, young researchers, and practitioners who are active CTF players or organizers.

Another goal is to foster the exchange of ideas and experiences in an interactive and informal atmosphere.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Organizational aspects of CTF competitions
  • CTF design and implementation
  • CTF scoring
  • Walkthroughs and write-ups
  • Lessons learned
  • Team formation and management
  • CTF gamification and edutainment aspects
  • CTF platforms and execution environments

Authors are requested to submit a short abstract (at most 1 page, i.e., 700 words) of their presentation.  Submissions must be in English and formatted in pdf. The abstract should provide an outline of the presentation as well as the motivation of its significance for the CTF community.  Each talk should last 25 minutes, with an additional 5 minutes for questions.


Important Dates

Submissions due: **31 December, 2019 (extended)**
Authors notification: 12 January, 2020
Workshop: 4 February, 2020



Proposals can be submitted either by sending an e-mail to: [email protected]
or filling the form at
For information please contact: [email protected]


Program Chairs

Letterio Galletta (IMT Lucca)
Marina Ribaudo (Università di Genova)


Program Committee

Cataldo Basile (Politecnico di Torino)
Franco Callegati (Università di Bologna)
Costantina Caruso (Università di Bari)
Emilio Coppa (Università di Roma La Sapienza)
Gabriele Costa (IMT Lucca)
Gaspare Ferraro (CINI)
Emanuele Frontoni (Università Politecnica delle Marche)
Giuseppe Lettieri (Università di Pisa)
Eleonora Losiouk (Università di Padova)
Davide Maiorca (Università di Cagliari)
Mario Polino (Politecnico di Milano)
Lorenzo Veronese (Università Ca’ Foscari)